Program Description

Becoming an administrative professional is a solid choice for the future. The US Department of Labor reports more than 4.2 million people were employed as administrative assistants and secretaries in 2006, with another 362,000 jobs expected to be added by 2016, an 8.5 percent increase over the 10-year period.

The AOM program provides training in the office and technology skills required by administrative office professionals, such as: document preparation, storage and retrieval with an emphasis on electronic recordkeeping; integrated computer software applications; organization and scheduling; Internet/Intranet communications and research; customer service and public relations. Our program is versatile – train for the Degree, a Certificate or simply update/refresh skills that you may already have.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in Administrative Office Management:

  • Administrative Medical Office Professional (AA)
  • Administrative Medical Office Professional (CT)
  • Administrative Office Professional (AA)
  • Administrative Office Professional (CT)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Career Opportunities

  • Office Assistant
  • Administrative Assistant
  • Data Entry Specialist
  • Customer Service Representative
  • Receptionist
  • Medical Assistant
  • Front Desk Coordinator
  • Public Relations Office Assistant
  • Advertising Assistant

Administrative Office Management Faculty

Name Position Office Email/Phone
Susan Kline Professor of Administrative Office Management VOC-26  kline.s@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6335
Toni Pirtle Faculty Lead
Coordinator/Professor:
AOM and Virtual Office Coordinator
VOC-24 toni.pirtle@mccd.edu
 (209) 384-6169
Adjuncts      
David Abbott      david.abbott@mccd.edu
(209
) 384-6120
Cynthia Blackmore     cynthia.blackmore@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6120
Christina Carroll     christina.carroll@mccd.edu
(209
) 384-6120
Suzanne Carvalho     carvalho.s@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6120
Sonja Downing     sonja.downing@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6120