Program Description

Food Service is one of the fastest growing industries. Schools, hospitals, prisons, universities and the hospitality industry are always in need of trained food service professionals. Merced College provides Foods and Nutrition courses that are designed to provide knowledge and skills to ensure a strong foundation for students.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in Foods and Nutrition:

  • Foods and Nutrition (AA)
  • Foods and Nutrition (CL)
  • Dietetic Service Supervisor (CE)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Fast-Track Program 

New for Fall 2020, earn up to four certificates in just two semesters. See the Foods & Nutrition Fast Track flyer (pdf).

Career Opportunities

Employment of Registered dietitians is expected to grow about as fast as the average for all occupations because of increased emphasis on disease prevention, a growing and aging population and public interest in nutrition. Growth is anticipated in nursing homes, residential care facilities and physicians clinics. There are always opportunities for all levels of Food service, such as:

  • Dietary Service Supervisor
  • Foods and Nutrition
  • Registered Dietitian

Resources

Location
VOC-18
Merced Main Campus

Contact
Bryan Tassey
Dean of Career Tech  Education - Agriculture, Business, Industrial Technology / Area 3
bryan.tassey@mccd.edu (209) 384-6397

Corina Jimenez
Area Administrator Coordinator, Business
jimenez.c@mccd.edu (209) 384-6120

Foods & Nutrition Faculty

Name Position Office Email/Phone
Jennifer Hobbs Professor of Foods and Nutrition VOC-29 jennifer.hobbs@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6014
Michelle Pecchenino Professor/Coordinator Foods and Nutrition Program LRC-127 pecchenino.m@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6056
Adjuncts      
LaVon Cronk Adjunct Professor of Foods and Nutrition   cronk.l@mccd.edu)
(209) 384-6120
Martha Goodwin Adjunct Professor of Foods & Nutrition    martha.goodwin@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6120
Ralph (Gene) Womble  Adjunct Professor of Foods & Nutrition    ralph.womble@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6120

Connect with Us

Follow Foods & Nutrition on Facebook