Program Description

The Chemistry Department offers a full range of courses that allow students to prepare themselves for transfer to a four-year university or for entry into an allied health program. The Chemistry Department offers courses for the first two years of a chemistry curriculum including a full year of General Chemistry and a full year of Organic Chemistry. This allows students to transfer to a four-year university having completed the lower division requirements of their chemistry curriculum.

The Chemistry Department also offers a one-semester Introductory Chemistry and a one-semester Introduction to Organic and Biochemistry course designed for students planning to go into an allied health program or other programs.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in Chemistry:

  • Chemistry (AS)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Chemistry Faculty

Name Position Email
Denisha Dawson Professor of Chemistry denisha.dawson@mccd.edu
Paul Fregene Professor of Chemistry paul.fregene@mccd.edu
Dee Sigismond Professor of Chemistry & Mathematics, Los Banos Campus dee.sigismond@mccd.edu
Brandon Tenn Professor of Chemistry & Mathematics brandon.tenn@mccd.edu
April Weathers Professor of Chemistry april.weathers@mccd.edu
Krista Wilson Professor of Chemistry wilson.k@mccd.edu

Additional Information