Program Description

The Merced College Math Department offers a wide range of math classes - from Basic Arithmetic to Differential Equations. The Beginning and Intermediate Algebra courses are designed to prepare students for college-level math coursework. At the college level, we provide general and major-specific math courses – College Algebra, Trigonometry, Math for Liberal Arts, Math for Teachers, Statistics, Finite Math, three semesters of Calculus, two semesters of Applied Calculus, Linear Algebra, and Differential Equations. All of the coursework required for students to complete an Associate of Arts Degree in Mathematics and transfer to a four-year institution is provided by the Merced College Math Department.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in Mathematics:

  • Mathematics (AS-T)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Which Math Class Should I Take?

Mathematics Faculty

Name Position Email
Maria Radhika Albert Professor of Mathematics maria.albert@mccd.edu
Marie Bruley Professor of Mathematics bruley.m@mccd.edu
James Bryan Professor of Mathematics, Los Banos Campus james.bryan@mccd.edu
Julie Clark Professor of Mathematics clark.j@mccd.edu
Gabriel Cuarenta-Gallegos Professor of Mathematics gabriel.cuarentagallegos@mccd.edu
Caroline Dawson Professor of Mathematics dawson.c@mccd.edu
Lisa Diaz Professor of Mathematics lisa.diaz@mccd.edu
Svetla Gargova Professor of Mathematics & Engineering gargova.s@mccd.edu
Gregory Hogan Professor of Mathematics gregory.hogan@mccd.edu
Thomas Kim Professor of Mathematics, Los Banos Campus thomas.kim@mccd.edu
Mai Meidinger Professor of Mathematics meidinger.m@mccd.edu
Steve Meidinger Professor of Mathematics meidinger.s@mccd.edu
Patrick Mitchell Professor of Mathematics patrick.mitchell@mccd.edu
Raj Mohan Professor of Mathematics mohan.r@mccd.edu
John Montoya Math Faculty Lead Professor & Professor of Mathematics montoya.j@mccd.edu
Ivan Navarro Professor of Mathematics ivan.navarro@mccd.edu
Kristen Rieg Professor of Mathematics kristen.rieg@mccd.edu
Charles Schlinger Professor of Mathematics schlinger.c@mccd.edu
Nicholas Shumaker Professor of Mathematics, Los Banos Campus nicholas.shumaker@mccd.edu
Dee Sigismond Professor of Chemistry & Mathematics, Los Banos Campus dee.sigismond@mccd.edu
Mark Sutterfield Professor of Mathematics mark.sutterfield@mccd.edu
Brandon Tenn Professor of Chemistry & Mathematics brandon.tenn@mccd.edu