Program Description

The History Department of Merced College offers courses in California history, United States history, the history of the Americas, the history of civilizations, concentrations in European history, Asian history, and courses in the history of minority populations, Black history, Hispanic history and honors level courses.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in History:

  • History (AA-T)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Study of History

History is the study of the past. The study of history involves the political, economic, social, cultural, and demographic understanding of human civilizations. History is unique: no field of knowledge is alien to it since history encompasses all knowledge about the past. The study of history is a supportive and integrative discipline, designed to broaden our knowledge of the past, to support study in other areas, and to bring to bear the discipline of history in other fields of knowledge. Through study of the past, we acquire familiarity with the great tradition of human values and human dignity. The study of history helps us to become moral, literate, humane, compassionate, knowledgeable people who recognize that we cannot deal with the present or prepare to cope with the future without an understanding of the past. History helps us to gain familiarity with the great traditions of past civilizations, human values, and human dignity.

History Faculty

Name Position Office Email/Phone
Adam C. Fong, PhD Professor of History MUS-7 adam.fong@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6018
Jennifer Gardner Professor of History / Political Science
Los Banos
LB-B-118 jennifer.gardner@mccd.edu
(209) 386-6721
Michael Lorenz Professor of History IAC-A-219 lorenz.m@mccd.edu
(209) 381-6509
Ralph Morris Professor of History IAC-A-215 morris.r@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6350
Jodie Steeley, PhD Professor of History IAC-A-209 steeley.j@mccd.edu
(209) 384-6355
Part-Time History Faculty

Derek Cowell: derek.cowell@mccd.edu
Elizabeth Harvey: MUS-9, harvey.e@mccd.edu / (209) 384-6368
Tony Kocolaskocolas.t@mccd.edu / (209) 384-6011 ext. 2229
Carlton (Chuck) Purcell: purcell.c@mccd.edu / (209) 384-6011 ext. 2227
David Seymourdavid.seymour@mccd.edu
Jake Wheeler: jake.wheeler@mccd.edu / (209) 384-6011 ext. 2239